Central Coast Volunteer Lifesavers were recognised for their achievements over the past 12 months at the Surf Life Saving Central Coast Awards of Excellence on Saturday night at Mingara. With 24 categories and a membership base of over 8,500 members the Central Coast Awards of Excellence is a prestigious event that recognises the outstanding achievements of members across the entire Central Coast. The evening also provides a great opportunity to reflect on the achievements of our 15 Central Coast clubs and the generous support of our sponsors and partners of Surf Life Saving Central Coast.

Taking out the top award – Club of the Year is Umina Surf Life Saving Club. Umina has once again demonstrated excellence in governance, Lifesaving, Education, Membership and Surf Sports. Umina President in his acceptance speech said “it is due to the commitment and engagement of the leadership at the club that members come back and new members join”. In 2nd position was Avoca Surf Life Saving Club and in 3rd Shelly Beach Surf Life Saving Club.

In the Surf Lifesaver category Avoca Beach’s Club President Garry Clarke took the award. Garry has completed an enormous 118 hrs of volunteer patrols in addition to role as Club President. This season Garry was a UAV operator, trained, assessed and facilitated various surf education awards including the Bronze Medallion. His contribution to Avoca and Surf Life Saving Central Coast is inspirational. In addition to receiving Surf Lifesaver of the Year Garry was honoured for his achievements and continued contribution to the Surf Life Saving movement with a Surf Life Saving Central Coast Life Membership.

The Youth Surf Lifesaver of the Year category was awarded to Liam Drake of Ocean Beach Surf Life Saving Club. Liams achievements include, 83 hrs of voluntary patrols, Central Coast U13- U14 Youth Program Coordinator, U15 Youth Program Facilitator, sat on the NSW Championships safety and emergency committee, Club Water Safety officer and NSW Junior Lifesaver of the year Facilitator.

Volunteer of the Year went to Julie Redfern of Terrigal Surf Life Saving Club. This season Julie was Director of Members Services, Patrol Captain, managed club social media and a valuable administrator for the club. Her deminer and experience enabled her to mediate and resolve situations on over 10 occasions with appropriate outcomes. She is a female leader and volunteer that always puts Surf Life Saving, communication and inclusivity first.

The Youth Volunteer of the Year award was awarded to Kai Avis of North Avoca Surf Life Saving Club. As a 17yr old kai has been an inspirational leader within North Avoca SLSC. He has one of the highest patrolling hours in the club, support the Nipper program with water safety and coaching twice a week. In a mere two weeks he coached the Nipper Marsh Past team to Gold medallion at this season Branch Championships.

Our other award recipients include:-

Rookie of the Year Zara Tucker – Ocean Beach 

Trainer of the Year Pam Edmonds – Umina  

Assessor of the Year Tim Pittolo – Terrigal 

Facilitator of the Year Paul Dowdell – Shelly Beach 

Administrator of the Year Kate Harrison – North Avoca 

Service Team of the Year North Avoca Youth Program – North Avoca 

Surf Sports Team of the Year The Lakes – Board Relay – The Lakes 

Official of the Year David Unger – Ocean Beach 

Coach of the Year Damien Benson – Avoca 

Masters Athlete of the Year Hayden Smith – Terrigal 

Young Athlete of the Year Ryan Green – Terrigal 

Open Athlete of the Year Ella Beere – Avoca 

Patrol Captain of the Year Kerry Armstrong Smith – Umina 

Support Operator of the Year David Smith – Terrigal 

President’s Award Lauren Summerhayes – Umina 

Innovation of the Year Umina Youth Engagement Program Umina 

Community Education Program Terrigal Walk for Youth Mental Health Terrigal 

Rescue of the Year Avoca Patrol January ’22 Avoca 

Patrol Competition Umina

Overall Surf Sports Point score Terrigal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.